Kanpai :: Katsuya Hollywood with a Side of John Taylor

Yesterday, I had spent most of the morning in Jet-Set Tot’s Kindergarten class for Pumpkin Madness. It was also camouflage day so I was ridiculously thrilled to get away with wearing my cargo pants and Chucks. I did not plan on having the typical Jet-Set Mom Hollywood night filled with celeb spotting and fine dining, so I threw on a scarf and ran out the door to meet Jet-Set Friend. I thought I was headed to a book signing. I knew it wasn’t just any ordinary book signing, but I was just happy to be out of the house.

Jet-Set Friend and I headed up to Cinespace to catch a Q & A and book signing with Duran Duran bassist, John Taylor. After being transported directly into one of my favorite 80’s movies, Valley Girl, and our brief meeting and convo with JT, (yes, he’s very engaging, very handsome, and proud to say he was pretty into Jet-Set Tot’s name,) we were ready to grab some dinner at Katsuya Hollywood was a few doors down.

Because my fabulous fashion ensemble left me feeling a bit self-conscious, we opted to be seated at the sushi bar and it was perfect so we could eat, run and be home all before Andy Cohen made his guest in the hot seat ‘Plead the Fifth’. What I did NOT expect was to bump into a friend from 20 years ago! On a different coast! Too bad I looked like a major nerd. See people, you really do need to dress up because you never know whom you are going to run in to!

Katsuya Hollywood The Jet-Set Family

SSC Roll 
Sautéed shrimp with asparagus and mushrooms over a California roll.

Wagyu Tobanyaki
A beef-lover’s dream, served sizzling hot with wild mushrooms.

I really enjoyed sitting with the Katsuya sushi chefs and watching all of the action. It was fascinating to see them roll, cut and even torch some of the dishes. Katsuya has a very impressive menu, and we all know that I am a sucker for the freshest ingredients, so I have to tell you that the ginger and asparagus tasted as though they were picked hours before. While the SSC Roll and Wagyu Tobanyaki were absolutely delicious, I still think the simple tuna sashimi was the star of the meal. When the sushi tastes so amazing that you cannot wait to go back and not even peek at the specials, the restaurant automatically achieves rock star status in my book.

 

Hugs & passports,

– Nicole

Nicole_StandleyNicole Standley a.k.a. Jet-Set Mom, is a social influencer + lifestylist covering luxury travel, fine-dining, fashion & pop culture for The Trend Tribe. Contributor for CBS LA, Lucky Magazine, Burke Williams Spa & Moonfrye.com, follow her latest travels and escapades on Instagram, Google+ and Twitter.

Photo credits: Nicole Standley
