Celebrating.

Birthday_Breakfast_Pancake_Muffins

I just came across these photos of Jet-Set Tot on her birthday morning that I forgot about. We are a tiny family so it is important to us on birthdays to celebrate BIG! Not so much with a ton of presents, but with special surprises sprinkled throughout the day. Jet-Set Tot’s birthday is just important to Jet-Set Dad and I, so it’s our way of thanking her for picking us to be her parents. I know she does not understand this now, nor do I expect her to, but I know she’ll eventually get it. I truly believe that one of my main responsibilities as a parent is to make special memories for her to cherish.

We have two traditions that I hope to continue throughout the years. Two of Jet-Set Tot’s favorite things are balloons and pancakes. When she a young lil’ Jet-Set Tot all she’s wanted every year for her birthday was balloons. Well once again her wish is my command. Each year while she’s sound asleep, Jet-Set Dad and I sneak in her room all stealth-like and decorate every inch of her room with balloons. I will never ever forget the first time she woke up and saw the site. I still get chills thinking about it. She was so happy. So excited. So thrilled. So grateful. Her reaction was more than I ever imagined, and that was the moment the tradition began.

Pancake_Muffins_Birthday_Breakfast

Slowly over the years we went from traditional pancakes to make-your-own personal pancake muffin bites. This worked out great for our threesome because I’m not a fan of blueberries, but Jet-Set Tot and Jet-Set Dad are. I love nuts, they don’t. They love chocolate chips…and so on.

Directions

  • Mix your favorite pancake batter per instructions on the packaging and pour into paper cupcake wrappers.
  • Add your favorite nuts, berries, chocolate chips or even bacon! Just like make your own pizzas or tacos, let your Jet-Set Family get creative.
  • Bake in oven at 350 for 12 – 14 minutes
  • Serve with syrup and ENJOY!

Thank you Pinterest once again for a great idea!

How do you celebrate in your home?

Hugs & passports,

– Nicole

Nicole_StandleyNicole Standley a.k.a. Jet-Set Mom, is a social influencer + lifestylist covering luxury travel, fine-dining, fashion & pop culture for The Trend Tribe. Contributor for CBS LA, Lucky Magazine, Burke Williams Spa & Moonfrye.com, follow her latest travels and escapades on Instagram, Google+ and Twitter.

Photo credits: Nicole Standley
