How Should We Decorate Our Easter Eggs This Year?

Yo-Gabba-Gabba-Muppet-Easter-Eggs

Didn’t we just do this? Easter stresses me out. Each year I feel the need to raise the bar and come up with a new theme for our Easter eggs. The funny thing is, I’m in competition with only myself. I’m fairly certain no one else cares which characters we do, but I actually enjoy decorating them, so I like to raise the bar. However that little boost also raises my anxiety to a whole other level.

Oh! And I cheat as well, so I don’t even HAVE to decorate them each Easter. That’s right. I cheat at my eggs. We blow the yolks, rinse the shells and let them dry very well. This way after they are decorated and Easter is over, I can package them up nicely and they are kept in a safe place until next year when it’s time to display them again. So by cheating I mean recycle. I do decorate each one with my own hand and (lack-of) talent. These eggs I’m about to show you are a few years old, haven’t cracked, do not smell, and still have pretty good coloring.

Muppet-Easter-Eggs-Jet-Set-Family

Our Muppet Easter Eggs

To create these mini Easter egg masterpieces, I use Sharpies. They work awesome! I will dip the eggs for a base color in Paas Easter Egg Dye, but then use a pencil to sketch the design and then fill in the details with Sharpie markers. I especially love using the metallic silvers and golds. If a character I am creating calls for a white space like eyeballs, I will use round stickers and adhere them to the clean non-dyed egg before I soak it in the solution. I will then wait for the egg to completely dry before I remove the stickers.

Yo-Gabba-Gabba-Easter-Eggs

Our Yo Gabba Gabba Easter Eggs

So let’s just say I’m tossing around themes at the eleventh hour. Superheros? The Beatles? KISS? Frankenweenie? C’mon people…I need some suggestions!

Hugs & passports,

– Nicole

Nicole_StandleyNicole Standley a.k.a. Jet-Set Mom, is a social influencer + lifestylist covering luxury travel, fine-dining, fashion & pop culture for The Trend Tribe. Contributor for CBS LA, Lucky Magazine, Burke Williams Spa & Moonfrye.com, follow her latest travels and escapades on Instagram, Google+ and Twitter.

Photo credits: Nicole Standley
One thought on “How Should We Decorate Our Easter Eggs This Year?

  1. Pingback: Friday Rewind: The Jet-Set Family Week in Review | The Jet-Set Family

Leave a Reply

