JSF Beauty 101: Skin Care Products

My skin has taken a beating big time this winter. Hot, cold, dry, breakouts, oily, you name it. I’ve not been a happy camper. My old faithful La Mer cleanser and cream isn’t even working for me any more. Le sigh. I was really on a mad hunt to find the best-of-the-best, must-have beauty products, so what’s a girl to do? Ummm…thats a no brainer. Head directly to Facebook and crowd source your FB BFFs!

Must Have Beauty Products

Not only were the usual suspects like Philosophy Hope in a Jar and Dermologica Super Rich cream were named, but some contenders that I have never heard before like Skincueticals Daily Moisture and Naturapathica were mentioned multiple times to rave reviews.

What skin care products were recommended the most?

Over thirty women (ages 30 to 60+) replied with their favorite brands that they swear work for them. La Mer was recommended by 3 women. Four including myself. I have been a loyal La Mer user since 2004, but my skin type is changing so I need to branch out. The other brands that kept poking up were: CeraVe, Boisca, Oil of Olay Sensitive, Cetaphil, and Chanel.

Honorable mentions

ArbonneNeals Yard Remedies Frankincense Hydrating Cream, Clarins Multi-Active Nuit, NARS Aqua Gel Luminous, Dr. Sebah Rose de Vie, No. 7 from Target, Korres Quercertin and Oak Day, and Estee Lauder.

Skin-care-recommendations

What which products did I end up with?

Jet-Set friend turned me onto LUSH cosmetics and now I’m obsessed. I will be sharing with you soon my latest trip to LUSH Newport Beach with some great new treats like Popcorn lip scrub I discovered. STAY TUNED!

I know I’ve named dropped this next product about a thousand times, but please, please, please try the eye cream from Tom Ford Beauty. It is the salvation you’ve been searching inside every jar for. The results are IMMEDIATE. You’ll see.

My latest and greatest switch has been to Eve Lom cleanser. Wow. Just WOW! I am not sure if I will ever be able to come up with the words to describe this magical potion. This is another product where I’ve been pleased with the visibly fast results.

I’m giving Kinerase Restructure Firming Cream another shot. I know, I know, it hasn’t worked in the past, but I have a gut instinct I need to ride this one out. Plus, one day I would really like to try the whole line and see if I use all of the products consecutively it will blow my mind.

Next week: I will be trying out samples of Good Genes treatment and Ceramic Slip cleanser from Sunday Riley that I grabbed from Space NK. I really hope I see results since it is hard to determine whether you love a product from just a few tries.

And lastly, what I absolutely cannot, nor will not live without… my Personal Microderabrasion home system. The PMD is the most wonderful thing I have ever used on my skin!

And which products are on my skin care wish list…

The products I am so anxious to try and and share the results with you are the Clarisonic system, Tria hair removal (I’ve heard only WONDERFUL things,) La Prairie Advance Marine Biology Travel Must-Haves, SK-II Whitening Source Derm Revival Mask, and finally, Philip B. Shampoo, Conditioner and the Russian Amber Imperial Dry Shampoo.

Hugs & passports,

– Nicole

Nicole_StandleyNicole Standley a.k.a. Jet-Set Mom, is a social influencer + lifestylist covering luxury travel, fine-dining, fashion & pop culture for The Trend Tribe. Contributor for CBS LA, Lucky Magazine, Burke Williams Spa & Moonfrye.com, follow her latest travels and escapades on Instagram, Google+ and Twitter.

Photo credits: Nicole Standley
