Flying United Airlines to Hawaii

Flying-United-With-Kids-to-Hawaii-2

You see, it’s no secret, we have become a loyal, loyal, loyal Virgin America family. They’ve satisfied our soul, filled our bellies, seated us near Chris Cornell. It’s a tough act to follow. I can easily think of different times we’ve paid few more dollars, and even flew into an out-of-the-way airport when necessary just so we can fly in familiar comfort. So when I found out AMEX Travel arranged our recent trip to Hawaii was on United I was apprehensive. Lately, I’ve heard some unpleasant stories about service, delays, confusions and let’s just say I grabbed my boarding pass at LAX with quite a few preconceived notions.

Flying does not make me nervous, but the thought of sitting in one confined spot for more than two hours does give me anxiety. So I’ve always enjoyed the in-flight entertainment systems carriers like Virgin and Jet-Blue offered their passengers to pass the time quicker. That was another huge reason I thought I was going to dread this United flight. It automatically made me remember all of those legs from Newark to Orlando trips we’d take on Eastern Airlines as a kid to see the Mouse at his other house in Orlando. Well, yes, the flight was long, and having Wi-Fi or Direct TV would’ve made the six hours ‘fly’ (ha! see what I did there) by, but I was pleasantly surprised.

Flying-United-With-Kids-to-Hawaii

So right now I’m typing this 34,000 feet up somewhere over the Pacific Ocean halfway to Honolulu, listening to Foo Fighters on shuffle and I could not be happier. The aircraft was clean, the seats are on the roomier side so 6’3″ Jet Set Dad was very happy, the meals were tasty (see below), the crew based out of LA and Newark has been fantastic, and we are set to arrive ahead of schedule.
Flying-United-With-Kids-to-Hawaii
For dinner I had an Asian Noodle Salad topped with stir-fried vegetables, sweet chile chicken breast and green onions, Jet Set Dad had a Thai Chicken Wrap with chicken breast, romaine lettuce, carrots, and red and yellow bell peppers wrapped in a tortilla with Thai aioli sauce. Finally, the Jet Set Kiddo opted for the Cheese & Fruit Plate with Brie, Gouda, Muenster (she still calls it Monster), cheddar cheese, crackers and an assortment of dried fruit to snack on.
Flying-United-With-Kids-to-Hawaii
Thank you United for the great flight, you’re waaaaaaaaaaalrigggggggght in our book!
Hugs & passports,

– Nicole

Nicole_StandleyNicole Standley a.k.a. Jet-Set Mom, is a social influencer + lifestylist covering luxury travel, fine-dining, fashion & pop culture for The Trend Tribe. Contributor for CBS LA, Lucky Magazine, Burke Williams Spa & Moonfrye.com, follow her latest travels and escapades on Instagram, Google+ and Twitter.

7 thoughts on “Flying United Airlines to Hawaii

  1. I saw the headline of this post and had to click over. My husband just left for San Francisco and always fly’s Virgin. However, this trip was booked through United…he fought it tooth and nail. He text me as soon as it landed and said I wouldn’t believe how fabulous it was. He said his flight had TV headrests just like Virgin and he felt like he flew first class.

    I’m so excited to hear they have stepped up their game and are playing with the big boys now 🙂 Oh and that foods looks yummy!

    And love that you prepped this post while flying. True journalist!

  2. Lala! Thank you for the kind words. This trip is especially inspiring. I don’t want to forget a thing so I’ve been pounding away on notes and picture taking.

    I was so impressed with my flight. Don’t get me wrong, it was long, no wi-fi, and did I mention looooooooooong? But the it was a very pleasant 5.5 hours.

    • Hi 1life196countries: Thank you for stopping by The Jet Set Family! I was very pleased with United. The trip back was on an even nicer plane and I was also very impressed with their ease at boarding and how quickly our luggage arrived at baggage claim. Overall, very pleasant experience with United! – Jet Set Mom

  3. Pingback: Giveaway | Spring Break Edition : Turn My Camera On | The Jet Set Family

  4. Pingback: Friday Rewind: The Jet-Set Family Week in Review | The Jet Set Family

  5. What headphones did you use? Were they for your child? Did they work well? Trying to find some good headphones for my 5 and 3 year old for a 5 hour plane ride

Comments are closed.