Invite-Only : Depeche Mode at The Troubadour

Depeche-Mode-Troubadour-LA

It’s Music Monday and I cannot think of a better way of kicking off the week then to tell you all about what an amazing night I had on Friday. Billed their smallest show ever in L.A., Depeche Mode played a very intimate “warm-up” show for 350 fans at West Hollywood’s legendary Troubadour as they begin to embark on their world tour in France this week. L.A. has spoiled me. I know, I know, catching up with Depeche Mode hardly sounds like a ‘proper’ Jet Set Family evening, but Jet Set Mom is a preppy rock ‘n’ roller who once dinner is fed, bedtime stories are read, and sweet dream kisses are handed out, I hang up my mom superhero cape and head to LA to enjoy live performances. Then just like clockwork at 6 a.m. I am ready to play mom with Cheerios and Yo Gabba Gabba all over again.

photo-13

I have been waiting almost 25 years to see this show live. All this time I knew that when I saw them for the first time I wanted to be up close and personal to soak every ounce of the music in that I possible could. Because of this, I’ve passed up many shows because I know I would be riding the rafters in Section three-hundred and something.  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve imagined Dave Gahan performing inches away from me. I’ve had this spiritual attachment way before the khaki Can’t Get Enough GAP commercial. It was Lloyd Dobbler  who introduced me to a song that gave me my first  “punch to the soul” experience. It was the first time I heard the soundtrack to Say Anything with Stripped. I could care less about Peter Gabriel’s In Your Eyes. The Light, the heat, the blah, blah, blah…Stripped held me hostage. It paralyzed me. Stripped wanted me to fall hopelessly in love with someone and have our black eyeliner and Doc Martens live emo-ever after. Because of Stripped, I’ve never been the same. I still can’t listen to that song without noticing the way I breathe actually changes.

photo-12

Then along came The Troubadour. Without much effort I walked right up to the stage with Tai and took a stance at an empty spot at the rail near the sound booth.They changed the set list three times while I was standing there, and sadly, none of them had Stripped on the roster, but I was OK with that. I’m not sure my soul could handle it. And I was right, I couldn’t have.

Depeche-Mode-Troubadour-LA-Dave-Gahan

As the minutes passed, my heart would beat faster and faster. I was about to see a band I’ve waited decades to see. And then the crowd roared, the band took their places on stage, and I sobbed like a baby. For those who do not know me, I am not a crier. I don’t like to cry. I don’t watch things that I even might think will make me tear up and suddenly at this moment you would’ve thought I was watching Terms of Endearment.  Despite the energy, the excitement, and the sound, I fought myself to get present, be in the moment, wipe those waterfalls and enjoy one of the most sought after concerts that any Depeche Mode fan would’ve loved to have been at.

Depeche-Mode-Troubadour-LA-Dave-Gahan

Celeb sightings of the night:  Tony Kanal from No Doubt,  Charlie Watts from The Rolling Stones, and The Tweed-Simmons family also having a family night out with Gene, Shannon and Sophie. (SIDE BAR: I’ve been around Gene Simmons children on two different (non-press) occasions without their parents, and kudos to Shannon and Gene for raising two of the most kind, respectful, and genuinely nice children I’ve had the pleasure of being around.)

Depeche Mode Live at The Troubadour, LA 04-26-2013

:: The Set List ::

ANGEL

HIGHER

WALKING IN MY SHOES

BARREL OF A GUN

HEAVEN

BUT NOT TONIGHT

PERSONAL JESUS

SOFT TOUCH

SOOTHE

ENJOY THE SILENCE

What is your favorite Depeche Mode song? Have you seen them perform live? Where?

Hugs & passports,

– Nicole

Nicole_StandleyNicole Standley a.k.a. Jet-Set Mom, is a social influencer + lifestylist covering luxury travel, fine-dining, fashion & pop culture for The Trend Tribe. Contributor for CBS LA, Lucky Magazine, Burke Williams Spa & Moonfrye.com, follow her latest travels and escapades on Instagram, Google+ and Twitter.

Photo credits: Nicole Standley
NON-SPONSORED POST
