Sweet Child o’ Mine

Happy Mother’s Day, to you little girl because without you, today would just be any other Sunday. From the moment I first felt you swimming around my tummy, I knew you were something incredibly special. Six years later, and I could not have been any more spot on.

Thank you for picking me.

Mother's Day 2013

I’ve always dreamed of having a little girl and you are not only exactly everything I would have ever hope for, but have opened my eyes to a whole new world of things I never imagined I could love so much.  My favorite place to be is by your side. Living. Learning. You’ve always had this fierce independence and kindness about you so you were able to grow and develop right in front of my eyes at a safe distance without distraction.

She’s got eyes of the bluest skies.

316_27579754269_3201_n

I am fully aware of what a miracle you are and how much you wanted this life. All I hope for is that you continue to pursue your happiness and stay on this amazing path that you’ve begun to carve out for yourself. Dream BIG and live BIG because life is good and there is no reason you cannot have anything and everything you want. You just need to figure out how to get it. And I’m here to help.

There is a reason so many great adults call you the coolest kid in the world.

I wonder all the time what your calling in life is because you love everything so much with such great interest. Your passions (and dislikes) are always obvious. As long as I can remember, I’ve said, “I have no idea what this little girl is meant to do, but I know it is going to be BIG.” Because I know how special you are. I can see it. I feel it. Your energy is alive and I thank my lucky stars that I was blessed with such a genuinely happy child. With that twinkle in your eye and a sparkle when you smile, I melt.

300623_10150342379134270_1527296446_n

Just this morning, I asked you what you wanted to be when you grew up and you said a traveling fashion photographer. The last part of the occupation changes every so often between designer, photographer and blogger, but I know the traveling and fashion part is something you love.

284317_10151126251554270_1984343119_n

And I know how much you want to be a mommy too. Don’t forget you can be whatever you want to be. Do whatever you want to do, study whatever interests you and live the exact kind of life you dream about. Nothing is impossible and I know with your will and determination that you were born with you will achieve great things. I want you to also know, Mommy will be there cheering you on every step of the way.

We like the same music, we like the same bands, we like the same clothes.

It could take a lifetime to find a friend that shares the same interests. To be able to have a daughter to enjoy the finer things in life with is another blessing. I would be hard pressed to find an adult who loves the Foo Fighters, tuna sushi and traveling as much as you do. Your laugh is infectious and your heart is enormous. I realize how special you are. And I cherish it. Thank you for making my life easy, but most importantly, fun!

Coolest Kid in the world

I also know the ways we couldn’t be more different and some may or may not drive me loony, but I will still keep you.

I love you, Tiny Dancer.

jsf-tiny-dancer-in-the-sand-disney-aulani

You are beautiful, intelligent, kind and everything that makes a person so special.

Hugs & passports,

– Mama

Nicole_StandleyNicole Standley a.k.a. Jet-Set Mom, is a social influencer + lifestylist covering luxury travel, fine-dining, fashion & pop culture for The Trend Tribe. Contributor for CBS LA, Lucky Magazine, Burke Williams Spa & Moonfrye.com, follow her latest travels and escapades on Instagram, Google+ and Twitter.

Photo credits: Nicole Standley
One thought on “Sweet Child o’ Mine

  1. This is an amazing post, Nicole! What an enduring legacy of maternal love, confidence, motivation and inspiration. I am reading this with my girls straight away. Thank you – besos y abrazos. 🙂

Comments are closed.